Friday, May 8, 2015

Reading right now:

            “The Edge of Dreams” by Rhys Bowen. The fourteenth book in the Molly Murphy series centers on Molly’s husband Daniel who is a captain in the New York City police force and his most recent case. The murderer sends notes to Daniel after each of his murders and then he goes after Molly and her young son. This book came out in March so I’m a little behind in reading it, but I have to catch up fast as Bowen has several books coming out this year. Her fifteenth book in this series comes out in November and is called “Away in the Manger.” Additionally, her ninth book in the Royal Spyness series will come out in August (“Malice at the Palace”). Both of these series are historical mystery series. Bowen’s Agatha win this week for Best Historical Novel (“Queen of Hearts”) is one of many Awards she has won over the years.

On hold right now:

            “What You See” by Hank Phillippi Ryan. After this week’s win of the Agatha Award for Best Contemporary Novel from 2014 for Ryan’s third Jane Ryland book, the fourth is being much anticipated. In that forthcoming book, newspaper reporter Jane Ryland gets involved in the abduction of a flower girl from a family wedding. Will this fourth book in the series be as terrific as the ones that came before and win awards next year? That is the question as we all line up to read the latest Ryan book which won’t be out until October. Ryan herself is an on-air investigative reporter and winner of both Edgar and Agatha Awards for her crime fiction.

Other mysterious things:

            This week the Agatha Award Winners were announced for the best traditional mysteries published in the U.S. in 2014:

Best Contemporary Novel Truth Be Told by Hank Phillippi Ryan
Best Historical Novel Queen of Hearts by Rhys Bowen
Best First Novel Well Read, Then Dead by Terrie Farley Moran

Sara Paretsky was presented with Malice Domestic's Lifetime Achievement Award for her many contributions to the mystery fiction genre.

No comments:

Post a Comment